Week 4 Activity: Art Care Package (ACP)

February 19th, 2017

For my Art Care Package, I decided to send it to my one best friend who is 18 years old and currently goes to school at Cal State Berkeley. Sending someone an ACP is similar to sending  someone a snapchat in the way that its personal and relevant to that person. But also, depending on what you send, can also represent the time you take for that one picture or element in the package. Even with some similarities, the ACP differs from snapchat mainly because, making an ACP could take hours, days, weeks, months, and even years. While a snapchat is a quick flick that only lasts for a few seconds. With the ACP, the value and the meaning of each object can grow over time, making it mean so much more than it might have been originally created for. Ephemera to me is very precious. While creating my friends package, i started to think of the types of ephemera i have received in my life thus far. I recently found my deceased grandmothers earrings that she wore for her wedding. That to me feels so unbelievably special to be able to wear her earrings that she wore on one of the most important days of her life. This is what I tried to incorporate in my friends ACP. Maybe not jewelry per-say but with postcards of the places she and myself have or want to travel to, etc. I do believe that there is a difference in the art that you can see in a museum versus the art in an ACP. Mainly because an ACP is personal, and is related to one specific person and their life, while as art in a museum is from the artist himself/herself and to anyone who sees it. The time and thought it takes to create an ACP means so much more, rather than just sending a snapchat to someone. The person behind the package thought of you and created this for you. Which means so much more. Although getting your message receivedfullsizerender-11 quickly is easier and more straightforward, the patience and thought that goes with an ACP makes up for the time it takes to actually receive it.

Leave a Reply

